His Dark Materials

based on the novels by Philip Pullman

adapted by Nicholas Wright

dark_theatre_smallHis Dark Materials takes us on a thrilling journey through worlds familiar and unknown. For Lyra and Will, its two central characters, it’s a coming of age and a transforming spiritual experience. Their great quest demands a savage struggle against the most dangerous of enemies. They encounter fantastical creatures in parallel worlds – rebellious angels, soul-eating spectres, child-catching Gobblers and the armoured bears and witch-clans of the Arctic. Finally, before reaching, perhaps, the republic of heaven, they must visit the land of the dead.

His Dark Materials is an epic production both in its narrative scope and its staging, involving artists from new technologies as well as old. It is one of the National’s most ambitious projects, and aims to create an experience as meaningful for 12 year olds as for adults. This riveting story unfolds over the course of two plays.

Director: Nicholas Hytner with Matt Wilde
Associate Director/Choreographer: Aletta Collins
Set Designer: Giles Cadle
Costume Designer: Jon Morrell
Puppet Designer: Michael Curry
Lighting Designer: Paule Constable
Associate Lighting Designer: Vic Smerdon
Music: Jonathan Dove
Music Director: Mark Bousie
Fight Director: Terry King
Sound Designer: Paul Groothuis
Video Projection Designer:
Thomas Gray for The Gray Circle
Computer Graphics Designer:
Yuri Tanaka for The Gray Circle


Serafina Pekkala: Adjoa Andoh
Billy Costa: Mark Buchner
Lord Boreal: John Carlisle
Jessie: Michelle Dockery
Mrs Lonsdale: Vanessa Earl
Pantalaimon: Jamie Harding
Roger: Darren Hart
Iofur Raknison/Jeptha Jones: Don Gallagher
John Faa: Ian Gelder
Lord Asriel: David Harewod
Golden Monkey: Leo Kay
Farder Coram: David Killick
Ben: Pascal Langdale
Lilly: Samantha Lawson
Will: Michael Legge
Brother Jasper/Kaisa: Elliot Levey
Stelmaria: Emma Manton
Mrs Coulter: Lesley Manville
Professor Hopcraft: Iain Mitchell
Salcilia: Victoria Moseley
Daisy: Helen Murton
Dr Cade: Chike Okonkwo
Tony Costa: Harry Peacock
Lee Scoresby: Alan Perrin
Iorek: Alistair Petrie
Dr West: Dodger Phillips
Thorold/Balthamos: Samuel Roukin
Fra Pavel: Nick Sampson
Ruta Skadi/Betty: Rachel Sandars
Lyra: Elaine Symons

All other parts to be played by members of the company